fbpx Skip to main content
Fine Arts


By September 28, 2023No Comments


Navratri being the 9 – 11 day festival according to different places for the worship of goddess DURGA , is very colorfully celebrated across the country , the various incarnations and victories over demons of goddess is celebrated and worshipped. It portrays ‘good over evil ‘ folklore . This divine feminine festival is celebrated with dances , feasting , fasting , display of dolls etc , therefore we witness of lot of art , culture and colors.

Navratri , the 9 day festival , also has 9 colors , that depict and symbolizes certain things. The colors are  Orange, White, Red, Royal Blue, Yellow, Green, Grey, Purple and Peacock Green. To wear or use which color on which day depends on the day it starts.  It is considered a blessing to decorate the house and wear clothes in these colors . The nine colors of Navratri do not include the color black. However, there is no rule that you cannot wear black during Sharad Navratri . But this color is usually associated with sorrow and negative things, so people usually avoid it for Navratri color and other auspicious occasions.

Although it is not mandatory to follow Navratri colors, wearing these colours as per Navratri days is considered auspicious. Navratri colours according to the days are said to bring peace and positivity in the household.


Each of the nine colors of Navratri symbolizes a distinct quality of the Devi.

  1. White: White symbolizes peace, purity, and prayer in devotees’ hearts when they worship the Devi.
  2. Red: Red symbolizes action and vigor. It symbolizes the fierce form of the Goddess.
  3. Royal Blue: Royal blue symbolizes tranquility and the depth of the dark blue sky. It is a representation of the depth of wisdom the Devi holds.
  4. Yellow: Yellow is the color of brightness, happiness, and cheer – traits of the Devi.
  5. Green: Green is a symbol of growth and fertility required for success in every field.
  6. Grey: Grey represents balance.
  7. Orange: Orange symbolizes radiance and energy.
  8. Peacock Green: Peacock green represents uniqueness and individuality.
  9. Purple: Pink symbolizes love, affection, and harmony.

the first three days of Navaratri are dedicated to Durga or Kali, next three to Lakshmi and remaining three to Saraswati.

This Navratri ,  we could get a little more creative if we wish to and paint our fabrics ourselves with traditional folk arts or whichever design or artwork we prefer , we could get colorful with painting walls , dolls , diyas , and what not.

The possibilities are endless , we are so limitless, and the goddess always guides us with everything we do , everything happens through us through her , we just have to welcome it in us .

Enroll in our classes this Navratri and get colorful , we have art courses that might interest you or people you might know. Come and join us in the divine atmosphere of us classroom and get artsy.

More about colors and color psychology 

Color psychology is the study of hues as a determinant of human behavior. Color influences perceptions that are not obvious, such as the taste of food. Colors have qualities that can cause certain emotions in people. How color influences individuals may differ depending on age, gender, and culture.


How colors affect your mood?
Bright, warm colors (reds, oranges, yellows) stimulate energy and happiness while cool, subdued colors (blues, greens, purples) are soothing and calming. Bright, warm colors are best in rooms for entertaining like dining rooms or kitchens, while cool colors work best in relaxing spaces like bedrooms or even bathrooms that’s why usually.
Certain colors have been associated with physiological changes, including increased blood pressure, increased metabolism, and eyestrain.
There’s a lot more to experience with colors in our daily lives , if we give a little more observation to details of daily life , we would be able discover endless things.
× WhatsApp Us
%d bloggers like this: